Civil Rights Organizations Call For Global Corporations To Pause Advertising On Facebook To Stop Hate Online

Hundreds Of Businesses Are Standing In Solidarity With Our Most Deeply Held American Values Of Freedom, Equality And Justice And Are Pausing Advertising On Facebook’s Services

Let’s send Facebook a powerful message: Your profits will never be worth promoting hate, bigotry, racism, antisemitism and violence.

Jul 07, 2020, Tue:

Ad boycott organizers met with FB Executives

Jun 26, 2020, Fri:

Facebook will label controversial content

Jun 24, 2020, Wed:

Facebook executive admits to ‘trust deficit’ on call with advertisers

Jun 19, 2020, Fri:

The North Face the first major brand to join the ad boycott.

Jun 17, 2020, Wed:

A coalition of nonprofits launched the #StopHateforProfit campaign,

Sep 15, 2020, Tue
Aug 28, 2020, Fri
vox.com Aug 28, 2020, Friday
Kenosha Shooting: Facebook Banned Violent Right-wing Militia Groups. We Still Found Plenty Of Them On Its Platform. - Vox
The company removed at least four of these groups and pages after Recode flagged them for posts about shooting BLM protesters.
cover
News Cache
washingtonpost.com Aug 28, 2020, Friday
Facebook Erred By Not Removing Kenosha Militia Page, Zuckerberg Says - The Washington Post
cover
News Cache
buzzfeednews.com Aug 28, 2020, Friday
A Kenosha Militia Facebook Event Asking Attendees To Bring Weapons Was Reported 455 Times. Moderators Said It Didn’t Violate Any Rules.
CEO Mark Zuckerberg said that the reason the militia page and an associated event remained online after a shooting that killed two people was due to “an operational mistake.”
cover
News Cache
thedailybeast.com Aug 28, 2020, Friday
Zuckerberg Dumped On By Facebook Employees Over Handling Of Militia, QAnon Groups
CEO Mark Zuckerberg admitted Facebook had made an “operational mistake” by failing to remove a militia group’s page with a “call to arms” in advance of Tuesday’s Kenosha protest.
cover
News Cache
buzzfeednews.com Aug 28, 2020, Friday
Facebook Employees Frustrated With Zuckerberg After Kenosha
Following days of violence and civil unrest, Facebook employees wonder if their company is doing enough to stifle militia and QAnon groups stoking violence on the social network.
cover
News Cache
Aug 26, 2020, Wed
Aug 16, 2020, Sun
Aug 05, 2020, Wed
Aug 01, 2020, Sat
Jul 30, 2020, Thu
Jul 29, 2020, Wed
Jul 28, 2020, Tue
Jul 23, 2020, Thu
Jul 19, 2020, Sun
Jul 18, 2020, Sat
Jul 17, 2020, Fri
Jul 15, 2020, Wed
Jul 14, 2020, Tue
Jul 12, 2020, Sun
Jul 11, 2020, Sat
Jul 10, 2020, Fri
Jul 08, 2020, Wed
Jul 07, 2020, Tue

Ad boycott organizers met with FB Executives

Jul 06, 2020, Mon
Jul 05, 2020, Sun
Jul 01, 2020, Wed
Jun 30, 2020, Tue
Jun 29, 2020, Mon
Jun 28, 2020, Sun
Jun 26, 2020, Fri

Facebook will label controversial content

Jun 24, 2020, Wed

Facebook executive admits to ‘trust deficit’ on call with advertisers

Jun 19, 2020, Fri

The North Face the first major brand to join the ad boycott.

Jun 17, 2020, Wed

A coalition of nonprofits launched the #StopHateforProfit campaign,

Reference

Link
Zuckerberg’s Jealousy Held Back Instagram And Drove Off Founders - Bloomberg
The Facebook CEO promised Kevin Systrom independence, but an excerpt from Sarah Frier’s book No Filter shows that only lasted until Instagram started to look like the favorite son.
cover
Link
Mozilla Foundation - Join Mozilla in telling major companies to #StopHateForProfit
Facebook has a major problem with hate speech and disinformation on its platform. Mozilla is calling on Mozilla's peers — tech companies and companies that rely heavily on the internet in their core business — who are among Facebook's top advertisers to pull their ads from Facebook.
cover
Link
Stop Hate for Profit
Tech companies are not doing enough to fight hate on their digital social platforms. They must Stop Hate for Profit. Join the fight.
cover
If Anything Missed or There is New Developing, Please Help Submit
Please Sign In to Submit
There is a Bookmarklet for submitting: When you click on the installed bookmarklet, it will submit the page you're on. To install, Just drag the below link to your browser Bookmarks/Toolbar:
Submit To RutHub Bookmarklet